Thirty Days of Christmas; Day Five: The Stocking

I apologize for not having a post yesterday. My only excuse is that it was my last day of work for the week and I was taking some time to wind down and play some video games. 

Now, let’s get down to business. This post will talk about the stockings we hang for Christmas. As the old rhyme states: “The stockings were hung/by the chimney with care/in hopes that Saint Nicholas/soon would be there”. Now, we don’t have a fireplace or even a wall to hang them on, but we do have stockings hanging this year. They are hanging off the edge of our plastic shelves near the tree, but it’s close enough. Right?

The tradition of hanging stockings goes back a long way, at least for what I know. It hails from an old Dutch (or German, I’m not sure which) custom of putting shoes filled with straw out for the reindeer to munch on and the old version of Santa would fill them with goodies as a reward for children’s good deeds. (If this is not completely accurate, I apologize. I’m too lazy to look it up right now and I’m going off what I remember from stories that I read when I was little).

Two of the stockings were made by mother with needlepoint. The one I have was the same one I had at home when I was little. The one my mother made for Hubby was a gift and now they look very nice hanging side-by-side. We have two other stockings, one of which was another I had when I was young and the other is one I gave to Hubby as my own present one year.

Do you have any stocking traditions you like? What were your stockings filled with come Christmas morning?

Leave a comment