Thirty Days of Christmas; Day Eight: The Birthdays

This post is all about the birthdays in December, be them close to Christmas or not. I’ve known two people who had December birthdays, both of them being on Christmas Eve. The first was my grandmother and the second is a friend’s daughter.

Now, this is still a sensitive subject for me. My grandmother passed away in September. She was my last grandparent on either side of the family. My maternal grandfather passed away when I was little and we were living overseas. My paternal grandparents were gone within a year of each other and the only one I got to go to was my grandfather’s funeral.

I’m not usually an emotional person, but seeing my grandmother lying in the coffin, I could tell it wasn’t her. There was no life there. It looked, and smelled, like plastic and I knew that it wasn’t her. I may not believe in God, but I do believe in a heaven and I knew that was where my grandmother was. She wasn’t hurting or sad anymore.

Now, if my friend is reading this, then she knows what I’m talking about. Her daughter also has a Christmas birthday and I have to ask: Does she get birthday and Christmas presents at the same time? Is it just one big present? I’ve never quite understood the dynamic there. I’ve heard some people say they hate having a late birthday like that as they only got one round of presents.

Leave a comment